ALM History
Share |

ALM’s History

Beginning in 1939, the leadership of the Association for Linen Management, originally The National Association of Institutional Laundry Managers (NAILM), has focused on education to advance the professional development in the laundry industry. Initially providing the mechanism for managers of on-premise hospital laundries, the organization currently provides educational materials and programs throughout the continuum of service in the textile care industry.

Awards for Excellence

January through March each year signals the period that ALM accepts the nominations for candidates vying for national recognition as Heywood Wiley Manager of the Year and Allied Tradesperson of the Year.  

Throughout the history of our Association, these prestigious awards have recognized the leaders in our industry.  In a look through ALM archives these names often appear with notations of their tireless efforts to advance the industry and to promote the mission and vision of our organization through their educational contributions.

2015 ALM Awards for Excellence Winners




  G George Huber, RLLD​ 
     Gunderson Health System       
Heywood Wiley Manager of the Year


Angela Becker CLLM
Allied Tradesperson of the Year






ALM Governance

ALM is a non-profit membership based association with a strong volunteer leadership. Our bylaws provide for the organizations governance. Bylaw amendments may be submitted by any member of the association and changes are voted on annually at the ALM Annual Conference.

Current Bylaws - effective July 1, 2016

2016 Annual Meeting Minutes


Sign In

Sign In securely

Join ALM/Register as Visitor

Fresh Magazine

Webinar: At Your Service! Creating a Customer Driven Culture

4/24/2017 » 4/28/2017
Laundry and Linen Week